The Root

11 Jul

Last time I was back in Michigan, my mom, sister and I had a girls day and went thrift store shopping for some tables, and then out to eat at this amazing little restaurant called The Root. My family is on a big buy local kick right now and this restaurant buys almost everything from Michigan, even making most of their drink mixes and sauces from scratch with the local ingredients. Since this was our first time, everything looked new to us already, but they do change up their menu often based on the seasons to keep it fresh and fun. Coincidentally, they’re also big on wines. Score. The food turned out to be amazingggg and we all walked away with very very full bellies. Good thing we weren’t clothes shopping!

We started off with a sparking white wine also from Michigan, I wish I remembered the name of it, but it was delicious!

We started off with some scallops, which went down so quickly that I wasn’t able to snap a picture, but just imagine the best scallops ever, and those are them.

Next, we shared some gazpacho made from green tomatoes and cucumbers. This was definitely my favorite- so tasty and refreshing! I’m going to try to make some myself it was that good : )

We then had a side salad with apples, blue cheese, the most amazing bacon I’ve ever eaten in my life, almonds, and our main dish, the pork served over seared grits. Yum. Both were absolutely delicious and were gone literally 3-5 minutes after they were put on our tables. I think the waiter was impressed at our inhailing-food-skills. Never underestimate 3 hungry ladies.

Surprisingly, we ran out of wine before our main course even came. We’re also very skilled in that department. Just so many talents. Lastly, we decided to order dessert! We had one scoop of Spicers Cider gelato (a local apple orchard), and one scoop of Raspberry Chipotle sorbet. I would go back soley for the sorbet. It was that good.

All in all, this restaurant was definitely amazing, from the food to the decor, and I look forward to going back! It was a great little afternoon out on a patio with my gal pals and I would definitely recommend it : )

Leave a Reply

