Crock-Pot: Mac N Cheese

12 Jun

I. Love. Mac. And. Cheese. So much so that it’s a problem. I eat way more than I’d like to admit. I thought it would stop after I was out of college, but, the addiction has continued on strong. So, instead of my usual Kraft, why not make homemade mac? Makes it seem a little more mature. At least that’s what I’m going to keep telling myself.

After my last BBQ chicken adventure with my crock-pot, I started searching the good ol’ world wide web for a good recipe and found so many good options! I ended up taking a few things from different recipes and combining them to make my own, and it turned out great! This isn’t necessarily a turn-it-on-and-walk-away recipe, but it’s still very easy to make and provides you with tons of great food! Here’s what I did:

Step 1: Make the sauce. In a large pot, heat three cups of water, two cans of skim or 2% evaporated milk, and two cans of cream of cheddar soup over medium/medium low heat. Make sure to stir it as needed so that it never reaches its boiling point. Once hot, slowly stir in two bags (about two cups per bag) of shredded cheese until it melts into the sauce. I chose cheddar and colby jack. If you’d like to add salt or pepper to taste, this is the time to add that as well!

Step 2: Carefully pour your sauce into the crock-pot. Then, add about 16 oz. of whole wheat pasta into your mixture. I’d recommend a smaller pasta, such as elbows, shells, rotini or penne.

Step 3: Cover and turn your crock-pot on high. Cook for about 1 1/2-2 hours, making sure to stir your pasta about half way through to prevent burning.

Step 4: Serve and enjoy!

This recipe makes a LOT of food- I’ve gotten about 5 servings of lunch and 4 servings of dinner out of it which is great when you’re on the go a lot! To reheat- add a tablespoon of water and stir once heated. Since the main ingredient is cheese (YUM), the noodles may harden up a bit, but a little bit of water and you’re good to go!

I’m not sure I can look at Kraft the same way after trying this recipe, and I’m definitely looking forward to experimenting with my crock-pot more : ) Cheers!

Shopping List:

2 Cans of Evaporated Milk (Skim or 2%)

2 Cans of Cream of Cheddar Soup

2 Bags (About 4 cups) of Shredded Cheese

16 Oz. of Pasta

2 Responses to “Crock-Pot: Mac N Cheese”

  1. vplnenirenre1986 September 20, 2012 at 2:10 am #

    Reblogged this on Ron Harwood Posts.

  2. robertvugabrielle5 September 20, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Reblogged this on Robert Gabrielle Pad.

Leave a Reply

