Copy Cat Pt. 1

11 Jun

One of my favorite stores to walk around on a Saturday afternoon (along with what seems like the rest of Chicago’s) is Anthropologie. Luckily there is one two blocks away from my house, so whenever I need a little inspiration I can pop right on over! Unfortunately, everything is always so pretty, and always so expensive. So, when I saw a few things the last time I visited that I had to have, I decided to challenge myself to make them! First up is this adorable frame that mixes different materials, wood and glass, to give it dimension and color.

Pretty- right? So, I got to shopping. I ended up finding an oval plain wood frame at Michaels for $1!

Tip- It doesn’t come with glass, but if you have extra clear thick plastic left around, you can easily cut an oval out of it to protect the picture if you’d like!

I also picked up some wood stain, and since this was a small project, I decided on a stain pen instead of a whole can. It was very easy to use and doesn’t take up any room to store! So, using tape (I’d recommend a better type suited for painting, but, this was all I had at the time so I made it work!) I sectioned off my stripes, and planned out my pattern. I stained the wood stripes first, because wood stain bleeds into the grain of the wood…

…and then painted my first set of stripes next using leftover green and blue paints from another project. Since the paint was high gloss, it gives the illusion of glass, similar to the original Anthropologie frame.

Make sure you remove your tape before the paint dries so that you have a perfect edge. Once your first set of stripes are completely dry, you can tape off the remaining sections to fill in the gaps. Then, once all of the tape is removed and paint and stain was dry, I stained the inside and outside edges of the frame to match the wood stripes. You can also paint the edges or carry your stripes across the edges as well!

Let that dry- and ta-da! I have my $3.50 ($1 frame, $2.50 stain) frame! A couponer’s dream savings of 88%. This will go perfect in my living room redecoration project (once I put a picture in it of course) as well as a few other copy cat item’s I’ll share coming up soon : )

2 Responses to “Copy Cat Pt. 1”

  1. Sarah June 11, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    What a great copy! Last time I was in Anthropologie, they had some really cool fake cactus plants they made with painted canvas all over the store. They were so cute and clever but not for sale. Maybe I’ll take a cue from you and just make my own!

    • jodieevelyn June 12, 2012 at 9:03 am #

      Thank you! I think you should definitely go for it : ) Projects are always fun and then you can really make it your own!

Leave a Reply

