Flower Necklace

8 Jun

Happy Friday!! After my first jewelry making class, I’ve been thinking of ways I could make pieces at home as well, and this week I finally got my butt up and went to the craft store to look around! First, I found a large flower pendant that was fun and summery, and then ran across some light girly pastel pink beads that complimented the style I was going for. I have a lot of harsh and darker necklaces right now, so I wanted something youthful and summery that would compliment my wardrobe. I also picked up a strand of dark silver beads, some wiring, and clasps to finish the job.

I chose to work with 24 gauge beading wire because it’s thicker and holds it’s shape and I wanted the necklace to be very structured. Instead of using the flower as a hanging pendant, I went for a more statement look, placing the flower on the side of the necklace and focusing the whole design in the front. Now, this is my first time playing around with these materials so play nice, but my finished product is below!

How it happened:

1. I cut a piece of wire long enough to string the two strands of beads and fit around 1/2 of my neck, with extra room for a clasp.

2. I twisted the wire on one of the petals so that one end was shorter than the other. The shorter side is what you’re going to use to make your top strand of beads, and the longer end you will string the bottom strand of beads and then continue up to the clasp.

3. After I strung both the top and bottom strands of beads, I attached the top strand by simply twisting the end of the shorter wire to the top of the beads on the longer wire, then added an additional bead to make it blend together. This is possible because I was working with thicker wire, but if you have thinner wire or string, you will need to use additional clamps or knots.

Congrats, you have half a necklace!

4. After measuring the necklace and deciding exactly how I wanted the necklace to lay, I cut one more smaller piece of wire and used the same twisting method to attach the wire to the other side of the flower pendant.

Now, for the grand finale.

5. With a super scientific measurement process called “trying it on and pinching the wire where you want the clasp to be,” I twisted one of the ends of the wire around a small clasp, and made the other wire into a loop. You can add fancy clasps or wire on additional rings, but again since I was using thicker wire and I’m a newbie, I opted for the easier route. Maybe one day I’ll get fancy, but today, I’m more than happy to rock this necklace.

The best parts? This is unique so no one else will have it and the entire thing cost me less than $10. Plus, I now have extra wire, clasps and beads to use on another project! : )

Cheers!

2 Responses to “Flower Necklace”

  1. Hepburn Hilton June 9, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Very impressive!

Leave a Reply

