Summer Favorites

31 May

Cue The Sound of Music and the “These are a few of my favorite things” song… This week I’ve been working on the always scary project of cleaning out my closet and changing out my summer and winter clothes. I’ve added a few new fun pieces to my summer wardrobe over the past few months and decided to share my favorites in one big post!

Pants

The blue jeans on the left are a dark wash boot cut made by Fidelity. They are stretchy, comfy, long, and worth every penny. These are my favorite to wear on days that I have an event after work, because they transition from office appropriate to bar scene very easily! The white jeans on the right are from Marshalls. Even though they are hard for someone like me to keep clean, I love how you can pair them with a simple t-shirt for a casual look, or heals and a blouse for a more formal setting.

Dresses & Skirts

The top left dress is an amazing bright coral color and I picked it up from Francesca’s! It looks cute with heels, flats, boots, with a belt, without a belt, with delicate jewelry, with chunky jewelry, and you get the picture. I love it and all of it’s lacy-ness. The top right dress was a find from Marshalls as well, and goes well with the floral trend right now. It’s slightly longer in the back and has just the right amount of flow to be forgiving no matter how a girl feels that day : ) On the bottom is a black skirt that I’ve owned for a while from Forever 21, but 4 years later I’m still in love! It’s also lacy and also has some tulle for my inner ballerina.

Tops

The bright coral blazer on the top is the newest addition to my summer wardrobe and I’m actually wearing it right now : ) I bought it on my Nordstroms shopping trip I planned out here and I obviously got side tracked by it’s beauty. It’s a light weight linen/cotton blend and goes with a lot of my clothing now so I plan on getting a lot of use out of it! Then on the right is another cardigan also from Nordstroms. I just love ’em. Plus, this goes perfect with my floral dress above for a more girly look. Then, last but not least, the blouse on the bottom was a find at Marshalls and is another great piece for transitioning from office appropriate to a party scene. It’s a silky loose material that looks cute with just about any accessory!

Accessories

My new favorite summer heels! These were also a find at Marshalls and are probably the comfiest heels I’ve ever owned. And that says a lot. They are strappy and wonderful and are also great to go from the office to late night (do you sense a theme here?). Then, to top of any and every look. You’ve got to have some shades! Prevent those wrinkles! These are my new go-to glasses from Marc Jacobs. The aviator shape is a staple and although they were a bit pricey, I’m planning on keeping them for a long time! (Knocking on some wood at this very moment because if I don’t I’ll probably sit on them before the day is over.)

If you couldn’t tell, I love my clothes right now : ) I learned two key tips from my mom recently that have helped a lot! First- Focus on three colors that compliment each other, then, outside of neutrals, only by those colors. I’ve chosen blue, pink and purple, and it really does help you when picking out what to wear (or scrambling to get ready in 10 minutes because you hit your snooze button for an hour… never happens to me, ever) because everything goes together! Secondly, rearrange how your closet is, and often. I’ve experimented with like colors, like styles, business vs. play, and many more. Each time I rediscover how to wear pieces and in turn, have gotten a lot more use out of some things that I almost got rid of! Momma always knows best : )

Cheers to summer!

Leave a Reply

