Office Renovation

30 May

For anyone who has actually seen how small my apartment is, I hope that title makes you either confused or laugh. After shopping for my living room accessories I talked about here, I determined that my hopes of incorporating my computer into the living room was not very realistic due to space and the fact that it’s a shared living room with my roommate and I. So, I improvised! Project “office renovation” is much smaller than it sounds, but with small spaces, you have to get creative. In my bedroom, I have a tall bookshelf that matches a smaller three drawer dresser from IKEA. Throughout college and until last weekend, this shelf has held my many, many, sweatshirts and jeans (college dress code and essentials of course), a small tv, craft supplies, a larger than life jewelry box and many more fun odd-ball-dust-bunny-collecting things. Since I have limited space now, I wanted to put it to better use and actually make it functional, not just storage. I started by emptying everything off of the shelves, then sitting and staring with a glass of wine in hand (the usual).

Then, dun dun dun dunnnn! I decided it would be my office meets storage meets pretty spot. I adjusted the shelves so that my laptop would sit at a perfect standing height, then played with the heights of the remaining shelves below it so that I had room for my files and craft supplies. After sitting all day long at work, I have no problem standing here to work on my laptop, but, I may look around for a taller barstool that I could place beside the unit to use whenever I work from home. Here’s the final result!

Break it down now… Nananananana Na Na Na. After adjusting the first shelf for my computer, I wanted to add some type of bulletin or dry erase board for notes and reminders. I already had a larger frame that I was not using from Target and decided to turn that into a custom and colorful dry erase board. The glass surface is perfect for the markers, and you can customize it by adding fabric or paper where the picture would typically go.

I chose to use light colored scrapbook paper so that you could clearly see the notes written with the dry erase marker, and made a quilt type pattern that matched the colors in my room. I simply cut the 12″x12″ pieces of paper into four 6″x6″ pieces using a craft knife and taped the pieces together to eliminate them sliding around.

Put it all together, hang it up (I used a small picture nail) and you have yourself a personalized memo board. I added a pen holder which was a small pot from the $1 section of Target, and a pink cash box, also from the $1 section of  Target, which is the perfect size to hold little items like tape, a small stapler, paper clips and white out. Stacked a few cute papers for notes and wham-bam-thank-you-mam I’m ready to work.

The shelves below it I adjusted to hold my smaller items: blank cards, notebooks and spare papers, followed by a shelf for my file box, scrapbooks and photo albums, and last but not least, a basket to hold mail, papers, CDs and binders on the bottom.

On the top of the unit, I placed a decorative box that I had gotten from Marshalls a while back, and filled it with the remainder of my craft supplies such as paints, stickers and fabrics.

So there you have it. My office renovation. I’m excited to put the shelf unit to better use and to have a place to work! And, apparently, after looking at my pictures, the dry erase board also serves as a mirror. Bonus : )

Leave a Reply

