Make Your Own: Pita Pizzas

1 May

One of my favorite weekend lunch treats growing up was personal pita pizzas! Of course then they were made with white pita, tons of cheese and every kids favorite, greasy pepperoni. I had a craving the other day and decided to make them again, but this time a more “adult” version and a tad bit healthier (or at least I tried/told myself that to make myself feel better). I’m not the greatest cook in the world, but experimenting with simple recipes is something everyone can do! Plus, I really wanted an excuse to wear my new girly-green-polka-dot apron. Who wouldn’t?

Back to the food- I started out with small whole wheat pitas, basic marinara sauce (I like Ragu) and some mozzarella cheese made from 2% milk and placed them on a cookie sheet.

Next, add some toppings! I chose to add zucchini, green peppers, italian herbs and chopped garlic.

Once your pizzas are assembled, bake at 350 degrees for what will seem like the longest 15-20 minutes of your life, or until your cheese is melted and your pitas are crispy!

Chop them up, add a side, and you’re done! There are so many different ways you can make these, from changing up the toppings, to making BBQ pizza, gumballs and Oreos, or even breakfast pizza with eggs, cheese and salsa! I recently purchased a small grill, so my next variety will be attempting to crisp (burn) them that way : )

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Make Your Own: Pita Pizzas”

  1. Drive Thru Guy May 1, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Very nice, looks fantastic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Family Night Tonight! « An Oasis At Home - May 1, 2012

    […] Onion, Purple Potato and Pistachio Pizza Spices & Spackle:  Salad Pizza A Brand New Season:  Pita Pizza Cupcakes & Couscous:  Veggie Pizza on Portobello Mushroom Cap […]

Leave a Reply

